Dingdong Dantes, Daniel Padilla lead nominees for 70th FAMAS Awards

Charo Santos-Concio, Daniel Padilla, and Rans Rifol in a scene from 'Kun Maupay Man It Panahon'

Actors Dingdong Dantes and Daniel Padilla are vying for top honors in the Best Actor category of the 70th awards of the  Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS).
This as FAMAS announced the full list of nominees for its platinum anniversary edition to be held on July 30 at the historic Metropolitan Theater.

“The grandest and most prestigious award giving body recognizing cinema excellence, FAMAS will celebrate its 70th Annual Awards Night at the newly revived Metropolitan Theatre,” the organization announced in a Facebook post.

The nominees are a mix of established and rising stars that also include John Arcilla,  Eugene Domingo, Sharon Cuneta, and Charo-Santos Concio.

This year’s program will declare winners for 15 categories, namely: Best Picture, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best Director, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Musical Score, Best Original Song, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects, and Best Short Film.

The full list of nominees for the 70th FAMAS awards follows:

Best Short Film

Tukador ni Tatang – Gabby Ramos

See You George! – Mark Moneda

Write Here – Jake Muñoz Consing

Dog-Eaters – Kevin Piamonte

Laro – Fidel Redado

Best Visual Effects

Mofac Creative Works, Ogie Tiglao – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Poli Gonzales, Gaspar Mangarin, Walter Monte – A Hard Day

John Laviña, Edgery Mercad, Mark Victor – Arisaka

Santelmo Studio – My Amanda

Outpost Visual Frontier John Joseph Tan – Katips

Best Sound

Albert Micahel Idioma, Alex Tomboc, Pietro Marco Javier – A Hard Day

Immanuel Verona – Arisaka and Big Night

Roman Dymny – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Outpost Visual Frontier Don Don Mendoza – Katips

Best Original Song

Manhid and Sa Gitna ng Dulo – Katips (Music: Pipo Cifra, Lyrics: Vince Tañada)

Umulan Man o Umaraw – Huling Ulan sa Tag-araw (Rita Daniela)

Nakikinig Ka Ba Sa Akin – Dito at Doon (Ben & Ben)

Sa Susunod Na Ikot Ng Mundo – Nelia (Von de Guzman)

Best Musical Score

Pipo Cifra – Katips

Peter Legaste, Raphael Catap – A Hard Day

Teresa Barrozo – Big Night

Andrew Florentino – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Kettle Mata – My Amanda

Best Editing

Law Fajardo – A Hard Day

Mark Jason Sucgang – Katips

Benjamin Tolentino – Big Night

Joyce Bernal, Renard Torres – My Amanda

Bienvenido Ferrer III – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Best Production Design

Roland Rubenecia – Katips

Maolen Fadul – Big Night

Whammy Alcazaren – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Eero Yves Francisco – Arisaka

Best Cinematography

Jun Aves – A Hard Day

Manuel Abanto – Katips

Teck Siang Lim – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Carlo Canlas Mendoza – Big Night

Mycko David – Arisaka

Best Screenplay

Vince Tañada – Katips

Jun Lana – Big Night

Carlo Francisco Manatad, Jeremie Dubois, Ginacarlo Abrahan – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Melanie Honey Quiño – Nelia

Kristin Pareno Barrameda, Alex Gonzales – Dito at Doon

Angie de Ramos – Dok

Best Supporting Actor

John Arcilla – A Hard Day

Mon Confiado – Katips

Johnrey Rivas – Katips

Nico Antonio – Big Night

John Arcila – Big Night

Best Supporting Actress

Eugene Domingo – Big Night

Janice de Belen – Big Night

Adelle Ibarrientos – Katips

Rans Rifol – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Luz Valdez – My Amanda

Shella Mae Romualdo – Arisaka

Best Director

Vince Tañada – Katips

Law Fajardo – A Hard Day

Jun Lana – Big Night

Carlo Francisco Manatad – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Mikhail Red – Arisaka

Best Actor

Dingdong Dantes – A Hard Day

Christian Bables – Big Night

Vince Tañada – Katips

Jerome Ponce – Katips

Daniel Padilla – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Mon Confiado – Arisaka

Best Actress

Maja Salvador – Arisaka

Charo Santos-Concio – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Nicole Laurel Asensio – Katips

Janine Gutierrez – Dito at Doon

Sharon Cuneta – Revirginized

Rita Daniela – Huling Ulan sa Tag-araw

Best Picture

Cinematografica, Planc, Quantum Films – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Philstagers Films – Katips

Cignal Entertainment, Octobertrain Films, Quantum Films – Big Night

Viva Films – A Hard Day

Ten17P – Arisaka