NEWSFLASH: Congress proclaims Marcos, Duterte president and VP

NEW PRESIDENT. Former senator Ferdinand Marcos Jr. is proclaimed as president by Congress led by Senate President Vicente Sotto III and Speaker Lord Alan Velasco as family members look on. Also proclaimed as vice president was Sara Duterte.

By Claire Morales True, Managing Editor

QUEZON CITY – The Philippine Congress, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, proclaimed at the Batasang Pambansa on May 26 former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. as the country’s new president and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte as vice president.

The Senate and the House of Representatives, acting as the NBOC, approved the joint canvassing committee report and adopted the accompanying resolution of both chambers on the proclamation of the duly elected winners in the May 9 presidential and vice presidential elections.

The joint congressional canvassing committee, confirmed that Marcos had won the presidency by a landslide 31,629,783 votes, or more than 16 million votes ahead of second placer presidential candidate Maria Leonor Leni Robredo.

Duterte, on the other hand, also overwhelmingly won the vice presidential race in the Congress’ official count with 32,208,417 votes, or a huge margin of 22 million over her closest rival, Senator Francis Pangilinan.

Senate President Vicente Sotto III and Speaker Lord Allan Velasco proclaimed Marcos and Duterte as duly elected President and Vice President.

Congress leaders, Malacanang, former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and other leaders congratulated Marcos and Duterte for their well deserved victory.

Marcos and Duterte thanked Congress and their supporters and vowed to pursue what they had promised during the campaign.